Thursday, February 19, 2015

Keepin' It Real.... no Pictures, just snot

I'm not sure what prompted me to write about this.... although last week when I was sitting on my death bed, with my children right beside me, I thought maybe writing it all down would somehow make it better.  I was too sick to eat, let alone write last week.  So here I am today, feeling better, not 100%, but better.  So.  I write.

I realize there are worse off people out there.  That our runny noses and vomit, coughing, crying, and fevers were pretty small in the grand scheme of things, but I was given this trial as my own.  And it was TOUGH.  I'm convinced I was supposed to learn something from it.... 3 solid weeks of cleaning up puke, blowing noses, and administering Tylenol to screaming toddlers has to teach this mom something, right?  I'll let you know.....

I also realize that I always post about our adventures and our fun trips or activities and never anything 'real' or 'sucky'.  I think when I look back on these blogs in 20 years, I'll wonder what I though during these tough times.  Will my tough times get tougher?  Will those times really teach me something?  Will I laugh at my naive self and say, 'that was nuthin'!!!'  I may, I just may.  So I write.

Poor kids.... so sick!  Some Mega Virus attacked our home and my children's immune systems.  We started out with just minor coughs, a little Chest rub and our troubles were over.  Then it turned into bodily fluids out both ends.  For BOTH kids!!!  Poor little guys just laid there and moaned when they weren't hunched over a bucket.  It is heartbreaking!  Last, and just when we were starting to feel better, Mom (me) got a sore throat, fever, body aches, and a cough.  Which spread to my children again, only this time it was worse!!  We all just laid around for days, moaning and whining to each other.  I couldn't help them, they couldn't help me.  It was awful.

I finally took myself and Cohen in the the Doctor, just to make sure it wasn't something worse (and also hoping for a magic 'cure all' pill)... but it wasn't, just a virus we can go home and wait to pass.  Neat.  Thanks.  So we've muddled our way through it and are finally on the uphill swing... feeling better and finally getting some energy back.  But it was rough!!

Nate was a trooper.  He'd go off to work with all of us in our PJ's moaning.  Then come home to the same, sad scenario.  But (so far) he's escaped the worst of it!  Not sure how, but he has!  He also really stepped up to the plate.... taking Cohen a night so I could sleep uninterrupted, making us dinners, and feeding us our vitamins.

I am SO glad it's over, for this season anyway.  BRING ON SPRING!!!!!

End Rant.

No comments:

Post a Comment